howthcollage

Howth, Ireland. March 2014

Hello, everyone. I’m Victoria, and I’m one half of the Wild Wanderlings duo.

I grew up in a small town in a small state in the USA. My 8th grade graduating class had 23 people in it. My elementary school was situated next to a corn field, with an apple orchard just down the road.

In my youth, I read a lot of fantastic tales. As cliché as it may seem, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy had a huge impact on me. After reading them, I knew I wanted to see the world and have adventures.

I got my first taste of travel and adventure when I was 12 years old. Through a family friend, I met a delightful brother and sister from Santa Catarina in Brazil. I befriended them, and eventually, after they returned home, they invited me to come and visit. So I did. Just a couple months shy of 13, I boarded a plane all by myself. I flew from JFK in NYC to São Paulo, then from São Paulo to Florianopolis. My friends’ parents picked me up from the airport.

I’ll never forget that flight to São Paulo. I didn’t sleep a wink, and I saw city lights twinkling in the darkness thousands of feet below. I saw the sunrise, a sharp, deep red line breaking over the black ocean, fading to orange and pink.

travel collage

London, 2010 & Moscow, 2011

I had a lot of fun and made a lot of friends in Brazil. And while I missed my family, when the time came to return home, I found that I wanted to stay. Though the connections I made there have faded over the last 12 years, the 6 weeks I spent in Brazil remain a fond and vivid memory. And they have inspired my love of travel in the years that followed. Since that first adventure in 2003, I have spent three months in Ireland and four months in Russian. I have visited England, Germany, Finland, and the Czech Republic. I have seen amazing things and met wonderful people. There is not a single place I have been that I would not gladly revisit.

Prague, 2011 & Newgrange, Ireland, 2014

Prague, 2011 & Newgrange, Ireland, 2014

Now, as the summer of 2014 draws to a close, I am preparing to leave Washington, DC (the city where I have spent the last two years as a grad student). The future holds a number of exciting things for me. In late August and early September, I will be visiting old friends in Ireland, getting my first taste of the Scottish Highlands, and experiencing the romance and beauty of Paris. Afterwards, I will be settling in for a three month stay in London, where I will be learning computer programming. And hopefully having a few adventures along the way.

Meet Victoria

3 thoughts on “Meet Victoria

  1. I’ve seen tons of lovelocks in China but never back home in the USA! I wonder where that idea first took off from…Best of luck to you on your travels in Europe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

