Meet Julia

Ireland, 2014

Connemara, Ireland, 2014

Hi there, Internet! My name is Julia, and I am Wild Wanderling number two.

I’ve spent most of my life not flying on planes, and not just in the usual way that people tend not to live on Boeing 747s. Growing up, we went on plenty of family trips, but always to some drivable destination. We drove up and down the east coast, from Florida to Maine, New York to Georgia. Once even to the exotic land of Canada! Every few years we would plan a special vacation. We would talk about getting on a plane to visit family in Ireland or touring the Italian countryside. I would read guide books, listen to language tapes, and flip through photos of our latest destination. But when the time came, something always prevented us from buying our tickets, and our plans would disintegrate.

London, 2012 & 2011

London, 2012 & 2011

It wasn’t until three years ago, when I was 21, that I finally got on my first plane — a turbulent transatlantic flight to London. I stayed in London for five weeks with my university where I was studying graphic design and illustration. Once I arrived, I was so distracted by everything to do and see and visit that I forgot to be homesick. London was the most amazing place I had ever been; I never wanted to leave. Then, one long weekend, I took a trip over to Ireland with friends. I never thought I would be so upset to be returning to London, but boarding that little plane back from Dublin was much more difficult than I had anticipated.

Ireland, 2011

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland, 2011

My five weeks in London quickly passed and I found myself back home. I missed London and Dublin. I missed how easy it was to travel to a different country for the weekend, to hop on a train or a plane and experience something completely different. I made myself a promise that I would move there as soon as I could.

Ireland 2014

Connemara & Glendalough, Ireland, 2014

Graduation came and went, and I found a nice job close to home. I was able to scrounge some time and money to take two weeklong trips back to England and Ireland, but my chances of moving abroad seemed more and more remote as one year turned into two. One day, when Victoria mentioned her idea to continue her education abroad, a lightbulb blinked on. And so, that’s how I find myself about to pack up whatever I can carry and ship myself off to Trinity College Dublin — where more adventures will hopefully start.

Leave a Reply

